• Archives
  • Categories
  • Scot’s star power makes quick impact

    2018 - 07.03

    Scottish international Graeme Archer will debut for the Illawarra representative team in the Phil Bushby Shield at Figgy Bowlo on Sunday. Picture: GREG TOTMANLAWN BOWLS – PHIL BUSHBY SHIELD
    Nanjing Night Net

    Scottish international Graeme Archer will make his Illawarra representative debut alongside Thirroul youngster James Jones in Sunday’s clash against the Illawarra Senior side at Figgy Bowlo.

    Six Illawarra Open rinks will take on the Zone 16 seniors (over 60s) in the annual Phil Bushby Shield.

    The match is a trial for both rep teams ahead of the NSW Inter-Zone Championships – the biggest tournament each year for the 16 zones.

    The senior NSW Inter-Zone championships are at Harbord BC in May, with the Open championships at Ettalong Memorial and The Entrance in September.

    Scottish international star Archer only took up his new role as Figgy Bowlo bowls co-ordinator earlier this month but has immediately made himself available for the Illawarra squad in a boost for the rep side.

    Archer has shown his class in just a few games of pennants for Figgy Bowlo and will skip an Illawarra rink, with three Dapto Citizens’ partners Aaron Spears (lead), Ian Bailey (second) and Kyle Johannes (third).

    Illawarra’s other Open skips to take on the overs 60s are Warilla’s Jeremy Henry, Aaron Teys, Jesse Noronha and Harley McDonald in addition to Citos young gun Ben Ford.

    McDonald played on the Central Coast and is a NSW under 25s representative who has joined Warilla this season.

    Illawarra chairman of selectors Charlie Cheetham admitted McDonald would be looked at closely on Sunday.

    “Harley plays in Jeremy Henry’s rink in pennants and this is an ideal chance to have a look at him,” Cheetham said.

    Another interesting selection is Thirroul youngster James Jones who will play second for world champion Henry on Sunday.

    The senior Illawarra skips are Geoff McGillivray (Warilla), Brian Harriott (Dapto Citizens), John Ferguson (Dapto Citizens), Mal Pearson (Albion Park), Rick Maley (Windang) and Daryl Webster (Corrimal).

    Following the Phil Bushby Shield, selectors will trim the seniors squad from 24 players to 16 for an inter-zone series against Zones 11, 12 and 13 at Wiseman Park on April 12.

    This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.

    Comments are closed.