• Archives
  • Categories
  • CHFL: Waubra to name its best players

    2018 - 07.03

    SINCE the turn of the century, Waubra has twice captured Central Highlands Football League’s greatest prize.

    A drought of more than 20 years was snapped in 2006 when the Roos lifted the premiership for the second time before following it up with another flag in 2011.

    Now, the club is looking to immortalise its best team from that era.

    A selection committee, overseen by football manager Mark Verberne, has worked to come up with a list of 38 names that will form the standout side of 24 from the period between 2000 and 2014.

    The players will be presented at a function at St Patrick’s College on May 9, where 100- and 200-game milestones –which have been traced back from 2000 – will also be acknowledged.

    Verberne said the idea had come on the back of his nomination for a team of the decade at Redan.

    “I thought it would be a good thing to put forward. I think it will be well received and be a good night for everyone to catch up and acknowledge the players of the past, especially the 100- and 200-game players that have put a lot of time and effort into the club,” he said.

    The club’s netball arm will also unveil its team of the same period, with the selection committee – headed by Steve Crook – coming up with a squad of 20 players that will be whittled down to a final side.

    Waubra netballers last won the A-grade premiership in 2005.



    Aaron Gleeson, Ash Whelan, Ben Naylon, Brad Maxwell, Clint McIntyre, Danny Liston, Dean Kelly, Gav Miller, George Russell, Jason Allen, Jimmy Rushton, John Coleman, Josh Carracher, Lachlan Oliver, Lee Brown, Leith Pellisser, Mark Hynes, Matthew Clark, Michael Sordello, Mick Hynes, Nick Lawerence, Nick Moran, Nick Sullivan, Paddy Ryan, Paul Dodds, Paul Kinna, Phil Amoore, Phil McDonald, Rod Stepnell, Ryan Allan, Shaun Mullane, Steve Biggin, Stu Oliver, Tim Boyle, Tim Mullane, Tom Nash, Tom Nijam, Tony Mirabella


    Amanda McGreehan, Anthea Stevens, Belinda Hynes, Brooke Walters, Brydie Kilday, Chantelle Allgood, Danielle Shortal, Donna Broadbent, Emma Brown, Hana Cleary, Jane Douglass, Katrina Griffiths, Kelly Amoore, Kelly Moran, Lisa James, Megan Clark, Melissa Collins, Narelle Hill, Peta Lucas, Sonia Mullane

    This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美甲美睫培训学校.

    Comments are closed.